False Heads – It’s All There But You’re Dreaming

Released in 2020, It’s All There But You’re Dreaming is still drawing attention and rich acclaim the way of its creators. Recently it got a well-deserved and highly anticipated physical rerelease on CD and vinyl so we thought if it had escaped your radars first time around there was no way we would let the striking debut from UK outfit False Heads allude you again.

We first came across the band through their first two EPs, Tunnel Vision and Wear and Tear; both even five years back suggesting the East London hailing band was going to make a potent mark on the UK indie landscape. Since then they have shared stages with the likes of Queens Of The Stone Age, The Libertines, David Byrne, Band Of Skulls, Frank Turner and ‘A’, gathered intensive radio play and support and earned high praise from people such as ex-Ramones manager Danny Fields and the mighty Iggy Pop. Their debut full-length itself has received over 1 million streams on Spotify and over 500K on Apple Music alongside lusty acclaim and is again sparking similar eagerness in new fans this time around.

The band’s sound is a fusion of indie, alternative and punk rock to slim its variety down, the likes of QOTSA,  The Pixies and The Ramones regularly cited as references but you soon find within It’s All There But You’re Dreaming that it has its own DNA and character. Opener Whatever You Please instantly grips attention with its calm and mellow yet thickly intriguing presence; a captivating introduction only growing more compelling as the slim but rich lure of the song is draped in keys, intensity and increasing drama.

It is a track which instantly epitomises the imagination and creative theatre in the False Head songwriting and sound, the following Fall Around as fertile in that personality and individuality. There is a great post punk essence to their music too which aligns well with the dexterous rhythms and unpredictability they also conjure across their tracks, the predacious trespass Ink just as potent within its more tempestuous and esurient rock ‘n roll.

Through the transfixing Twenty Nothing with its melodic seduction and punk ‘n’ roll irritability, Slew and its grungy laden punk rock and the seductive melodic intimacy of Comfort Consumption, False Heads continue to broaden the canvas and enterprise of their sound and release, all three unique in their temptations and united in sparking full captivation.

It is so hard to pick out the biggest peak of the album or outright favourite but Come At The King proved slavery of ears and addiction, the track a nagging, devilish protagonist preying on rock ‘’n roll instincts and somewhat akin to an entanglement of Nirvana and The Libertines, while Help Yourself is another baring a post punk appetite within its caustic indie pop.

Track by track, the trio of Luke Griffiths, Jake Elliott and Barney Nash constantly uncage fresh aspects and adventures in their sound, each song almost intimidatingly catchy and bred on the feral side but as Steady On Your Knees confirms revelling in an individual uniqueness to each other let alone other bands. This is another addiction forging encounter which almost stalks the senses, offering up manipulative infectiousness and dexterous imagination once it traps them.

The punk ‘n’ roll of Slease has a whiff of Therapy? to its irascible punk rock, a testiness magnetically tempered by vocal harmonies whilst being driven by crabby riffs and punishingly athletic beats while Wrap Up aligns post punk shadows and alternative rock dynamics in its fiery confrontation.

Completed by Rabbit Hole, an increasingly deranged slice of sizzling electric rock within a sonic desert rock storm, It’s All There But You’re Dreaming is a must exploration for anyone with a hunger for uncompromising yet virulent rock ‘n’ roll bred with imagination and nurtured in expectation devouring invention. If you missed the album first time around there is no excuse now.

It’s All There But You’re Dreaming is out via Lovers Music / Riff Factory, released on limited edition ‘Vinyl Effect CD’ containing 2 additional tracks, plus a limited edition silver vinyl LP (released March 13th), with an exclusive rework of Twenty Nothing from Joe Cross (The Courteeners).

Both and numerous bundles are available @ https://www.falseheads.com  

https://www.facebook.com/FalseHeads   https://twitter.com/falseheads

Pete Ringmaster 06/02/2021

Copyright RingMaster Review

Categories: Music

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: